top of page

Gender Normalities

For my topic for this term project, I have decided to conduct my research and personal experiences around the rhetorical issues of gender normalities. Gender normalities have been a huge issue in society because it deliver a box to individuals and many people are afraid to step outside of that box. I created a videoscribe to expand the idea of harmful gender normalities and if it should exists. I discussed other questions suspected on the topic such as what dictates your future and if gender normalities did not exists would you still be the person you are today. I have uploaded the video onto my YouTube and open the comment sections to further the discussion. I attached additional information under the video to support my ideas and for the audience to explore other information on my topic.

Throughout analyzing gender normalities I discovered my passion for the media and being able to utilize it to share information creatively. I especially enjoyed using a new technique, video scribe, to showcase my findings and ideas. Gender normalities plays a huge issue in the media because it teaches men and women to act and be a certain way. From birth, we are pinpointed to these stereotypes and the public have a notion of our future based on them. I was able to apply my own experiences to this project which made it much more enjoyable and eye opening. I’m looking forward to view everyone else’s hard word and different topics. I hope to receive some feedback from my peers to see what everyone thinks and their opinion upon gender normalities. It’s such a sensitive topic which not many would want to discuss but let’s break that and talk about the issues of it.

References

European Institute for Gender Equality. (2017 August 17). Gender Stereotypes and education.Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nrZ21nD9I-0

Erupting Mind. (2016 March 27). Retrieved from

https://www.eruptingmind.com/women-stereotypes-the-glass-ceiling-effect/Weingarten, Elizabeth. (2015 January 20). How to Shake up Gender Norms. TIME. Retrieved from http://time.com/3672297/future-gender-norms/

Yau, Nathan. (2007). The shifting majorities of the sexes in the workplace. Flowing Data. Retrieved from https://flowingdata.com/2017/09/11/most-female-and-male-occupations-since-1950/

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page